Who would have thought that in 2020 music would basically be the same as the 1990’s. Artists aren’t touring the moons of Jupiter and we have yet to discover an H chord. So, in the meantime let’s look at the immediate future where Earthling are still playing on stringed instruments and banging on skins.

The Electric Soft Parade – ‘Stages‘ Due date: January 8th

The White Brother’s fifth album has taken six years to arrive. The long wait is finally over this seven-track album dedicated to their late mother has already gained critically acclaim from the music press.

Bombay Bicycle Club – ‘Everything Else Has Gone Wrong‘ Due Date: January 17th

Bombay Bicycle Club closed their doors in 2016 only to reopen until last summer with one of the greatest singles of 2019; ‘Eat, Sleep, Wake (Nothing But You)’. The quartet have a renewed love of playing music together and we look can’t wait to hear it.

Bombay Bicycle Club

Tame Impala – ‘The Slow Rush’ Due Date: February 14th

Set for Valentine’s Day, is there a finer gift for your loved one than a new Tame Impala album? They have already leaked a few tracks from ‘Slow Rush’ and you will be pleased to know that they have chosen against a reggae vibe.

Tame Impala

Lanterns on the Lake – ‘Spook The Herd’ Due Date: February 21st

It’s been a while since ‘Beings‘, five whole years to be exact, 2020 is really all about the comebacks. LOTL released ‘Every Atom‘ late last year and boy, have I missed Hazel Wilde’s soothing vocal. The Newcastle band are on tour next year and are bound to feature on many soundtracks in need of an emotional climax.

The 1975 – ‘Notes on a Conditional Form‘ Due Date: February 21st

Is there any stopping The 1975’s? It seems like yesterday Matt Healy was singing ‘Sex‘ in dingy London clubs and now they are already about to release their 4th and biggest album to date with a 22 track LP! Cor Blimey!

The 1975s

Mystery Jets – ‘A Billion Heartbeats‘ Due date: April 3rd

This was due out last autumn, but the band decided to delay the release due to singer Blaine Harrison needing surgery for a severe infection. Judging by last year’s single ‘Hospital Radio’; this is going to be a treat.

Mystery Jets

Matt Berninger – ‘Serpentine Prison’ Due Date: TBA

The National’s frontman just can’t stop. His band only released an album last year and he is already making plans for even more incredible music, which will be produced by Booker T. Jones and will feature many guest artists.

Matt Berninger

The Killers – ‘Imploding the Mirage‘ Due Date: Spring

The Killers have famously been taking their time between previous albums, but their 6th album is due out less than two years than the release of ‘Wonderful, Wonderful‘. Brandon Flowers either has a new vigor for making music or really needs a lot of money and fast. We shall decide this spring.

The Killers

Everything Everything – TBA * Due Date: May ?

Foals announced Everything Everything as their support act for some of their big shows this May. This has obviously sparked rumours that the Manchester group will have a new album out in time for these shows. *Sorry to any reader who thought we may have had some inside gossip.

The Airborne Toxic Event – ‘Hollywood Park’ Due Date: May 5th

Based on frontman Mikel Jollet’s recent memoir of the same name, this is the Californian’s 6th album, the first in five years and the first since the departure of violin/keyboardist Anna Bulbrook. We have yet to hear a note, but I am sure they will be emotional.

Airborne Toxic Event just

The Strokes – TBC

Did we mention band’s making comebacks? Oh good – well it has been seven long years since everyone’s favourite New Yorker’s The Strokes last completed an album with ‘Comedown Machine’. Julian Casablanca announced on stage after debuting a new song ‘Ode To The Mets’, they took the 2010’s off to and they are ready to take back the 20’s.

We hope that these choices has wet your appetite for new music. Don’t forget to let us know which indie albums you are looking forward to checking out this year on the socials : @rgmmagazine